Shamrock Shuffle 3.30.14

It’s official – Tina and I (and our friend Meg) are signed up to run the Shamrock Shuffle 8K in Chicago.

To you runners out there, this probably sounds easy-peasy, but I DON’T run. I like to think that I do, but I guess a brisk walk to the El or the bus stop doesn’t really count.

I did manage (and Tina too) the Chase Corporate Challenge (3.5 Miles) in 2012 and lived to tell the tale, so I’m hoping this will be a fun challenge!

Why don’t I run? This is probably as bad of an excuse as they come, but I’m either too sleepy, too hungry, or too full…all the time. Those who know me (Tina and Meg) can attest to the fact that I am NOT a morning person. In college, I would skip out on having brunch in the dining hall with them on the weekends because I couldn’t get myself out of bed. Brunch was 11am-2pm by the way. Running in the morning is absolutely out of the question.

I’ve attempted running right after work. However, at 5pm I am usually starving. Running sounds absolutely miserable at this point when all I want to do is scarf down a huge bowl of Flat Top Grill or reenact a scene from The Hunger Games.  So instead, I make dinner. After dinner, I’m TOO full to run…you see where this is is going?

My plan is to try to have a snack around 4pm. I hope this helps.

Any suggestions on how to motivate yourself to run?

2 thoughts on “Shamrock Shuffle 3.30.14

  1. Pingback: Chicken and Vegetable Skillet | Tina and Tia

  2. Pingback: Race Fuel | Tina and Tia

Leave a Reply

