Something Fishy

Like many other Asian American kids growing up, I spent a lot of time in Asian grocery stores. These were often the only places my parents could find authentic or rare Chinese ingredients for our home-cooked dinners each night. And if I ever acted up during their lengthy hunts for durian fruit or lotus root, where would they take me? To the fish section of course! All the entertainment of an aquarium, but free (and only slightly smellier)! The sight of live fish in tanks is actually so associated in my mind with the expectation of an upcoming meal that to this day, I sometimes can’t go to a real aquarium without getting just a little bit hungry. I know sharing that did not endear me to many animal rights activists out there, but hey, it’s really just how I was conditioned.

Anyway, you would think I’d consider fish more often than I do when I’m trying to think of what to cook for dinner. Apart from being yummy, it’s also super quick and easy to cook. Tonight’s menu was ready to eat in less than 20 minutes (speedy recipes are the best!).

I had 2 tilapia filets that I drizzled some olive oil on, then breaded with a mix of parmesan cheese and some spices (paprika, parsley, and garlic salt).

20140121-215330.jpg

Pop them into a 400F oven and bake for about 10 minutes.

20140121-215336.jpg

Served alongside some steamed broccoli, the fish was delish! And healthy, which should maybe help me not embarrass myself at March’s Shamrock Shuffle…

20140121-215324.jpg

~Tina

Leave a Reply

