Weekend Adventures

It was a jam-packed, fun-filled weekend up in herrrre….

Friday night started with our friends Meg and Grant, who got engaged over the holidays! Chris and I headed out to the skating rink where it all happened, got them to reenact the big proposal, and then demonstrated our mad skills on the ice. I would post the video of the triple axel that I nailed, but I don’t want to make you all feel bad, so I’ll skip to how we ended the evening:

photo 2 (1)

…with massive mason jars filled with beer at Toby Keith’s I Love This Bar, where we were entertained by a live country band and 2 guys who got into a fight and were dramatically arrested. ‘Murica.

Onto Saturday, which I spent in good ol’ Chinatown, preparing for the Chinese New Year coming up on the 31st. While it was just as crowded as ever, even almost a full week before the big day, I managed to snag the prized items I get every Chinese New Year. Spoiler alert: It’s MEATS.

photo 3 (1)

Today was icing on the cake of this busy weekend – The WEDDING cake, that is (See what I did there?). Tia and I gathered up our pal Meg again and headed to a bridal expo.

photo 1 (1)

Why yes, that is an awesome wedding entourage sticker I got to wear all day! The expo was filled with excited brides-to-be and their friends & family. The main event was an elaborate fashion show of both wedding gowns and bridesmaids dresses. I believe the group favorite was a very dramatic, BLACK tulle ballgown that was described by the emcee as a great choice for a bride looking for something “traditional.” At any rate, Meg definitely got some good ideas for her big day, and we all got lots of free cake samples, so everybody wins!

Here’s hoping this was a lead-in to a great week as well! If you are in warmer climates, please enjoy the weather on all of Chicago’s behalf. The high tomorrow is supposed to be -8   😦

~Tina

Leave a Reply

