Training Plan

After a pretty full weekend of gorging myself on food, today seemed like a good day to start healthing it up again, starting with a solid breakfast:

Scrambled eggs with green pepper & onion (and sriracha!)

Scrambled eggs with green pepper & onion (and sriracha!)

I followed that up a few hours later with a 3.5 mile run on the treadmill. In preparation for the Shamrock Shuffle 8K at the end of March, I’ve started following this training plan from Hal Highdon. Highdon is a longtime contributor to Runners World magazine and I’ve seen his training plans for races of varying lengths (5K’s to marathons) referenced online very often, so I figured it was worth a shot. I like how the plans are pretty straightforward and he literally explains the running days on the schedule as “Put one foot in front of the other and run.” No crazy intervals or things with changing speeds. And because I try to work out and run on a fairly regular basis anyway, I was able to start around week 4 of this plan.

Let’s be clear, though, that I definitely would not consider myself a “runner.” I don’t get any sort of runner’s euphoria and although I have run outside occasionally, I prefer running indoors on a treadmill for climate control reasons and also because it would be kind of awkward to run outside while watching videos on my iPad. Overall, however, I do enjoy working out at least for the feeling of accomplishment I get afterward… Before that, it’s pretty much the worst, haha.

3.5 miles is the longest race I’ve run so far, and 1.5 miles further doesn’t seem too bad. I’m excited to track my progress and hopefully share it here as long as the results aren’t too embarrassing. If I run this St. Patrick’s Day-themed race, though, and there isn’t some sort of green treat at the end waiting for me (Green bagel? Green beer? Either of these will suffice.), I will be supremely disappointed.

~ Tina

One thought on “Training Plan

  1. Pingback: Running Gear | Tina and Tia

Leave a Reply

