Chicken Soup

One of my favorite meals to have during the winter is Chicken Soup.  Not only is it delicious and comforting, but I am also 99% convinced that a bowl of homemade soup will fend off the cold or flu. You’ll often find me making Chicken Soup after hearing my coworkers cough or sneeze all day.

Recently, I discovered that I could make at least the chicken broth in my slow cooker. Yay!

2014-02-04 21.50.32

 

I start by adding a whole chicken to the slow cooker and fill it almost to the top with water.

Typically, I add only 3 more ingredients – ginger, onion, and salt.

This time, I had a few leftover carrots and celery in the fridge, so I threw those in as well.

2014-02-04 21.55.02

 

I added ground ginger since I didn’t have fresh ginger on hand. If I were making this soup for Tina, I would omit the ginger since she hates it. Honestly, you can’t really taste a ginger flavor. It gives the soups a warmth and depth instead.

I just set this to cook for 8 hours on low.

2014-02-05 18.09.52

 

When I make Chicken Soup on the stove top, I will occasionally skim the top of any foam. When I use the slow cooker, I like to strain the broth.

I ended up adding some already cooked rice to the broth along with some baby spinach for last night’s dinner. Other times, I add egg noodles, udon noodles, orzo, or even ditalini and stelle for chicken noodle soup.

2014-02-05 18.35.10

 

Enjoy!

~ Tia

 

Leave a Reply

