Thai-Style Peanut Noodles

Anyone know any simple, authentic-tasting pad thai recipes? I haven’t been able to find a good one yet that doesn’t require thousands of ingredients… This is especially unfortunate since it’s one of my favorite dishes.

Instead, I’ve resorted to making this more pseudo-Thai noodle dish whenever a craving strikes.

You can use whatever you have on hand – I had chicken and bell peppers that I wanted to use up, so I started by stir-frying those pretty quickly.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Once that’s cooked through, add cooked noodles to the pan to combine. I usually use udon noodles, but I didn’t realize that I was out until after I started cooking – Oops! Anyway, any long noodle is probably fine. I just used vermicelli. Finally, add in the sauce – a mixture of 1 part peanut butter, 2 parts soy sauce, 2 parts sesame oil, and 1 part brown sugar – which is what brings this dish together. Mix until all ingredients have had time to absorb the sauce.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I added a generous helping of crushed red pepper near the end, since I like it spicy! (Yes, I also ate this with Sriracha.) Everything in this recipe can be adjusted to your own preferences – Feel free to use whatever protein or veggies you want, or to change the proportions in the sauce to be more/less peanutty.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Happy Eating!

~Tina

Leave a Reply

