Movie Review: The Wolf of Wall Street

Thanks to an awesome deal offered by AMC Theaters, many Oscar-nominated movies were available to watch on a buy-one-get-one-free ticket this week! So after a long day of work, Chris and I decided to catch…

wolfofwallstreet

It clocked in at just about 3 hours…Honestly, about 1 hour too long. Otherwise, I found it surprisingly funny! Especially since this was from Martin Scorsese and starred Leonardo DiCaprio (2 people I don’t automatically think of as “funny”), I was pleasantly entertained. Jonah Hill also has a major supporting role playing Jonah Hill as a stock broker. Probably not that much of a reach for him, but he did have some of the more hilarious moments.

Fair warning: This is not a movie about how to make it in finance. Really, it’s a movie about sex and DRUGS. I’ve read some reviews that are critical of this movie’s “glorification” of this kind of excessive lifestyle. Yes, a lot of the more entertaining, watercooler-worthy scenes are of the crazy shiz that happens while many of the characters are under the influence of something (alcohol, cocaine, pills, and most often a mixture of all of these), but I think the movie overall depicts this as pretty unappealing at the end of the day. In any case, entertainment is entertainment and you probably shouldn’t be living your life by what you learn from films anyway or else I’d break into song every 8 minutes (I like musicals, you see).

My family likes to rate movies out of 4 stars for some reason, so I give this one a solid 3. It loses 2 because of the length, but I added 1 back because of Leonardo DiCaprio’s sweet dance moves:

leonard-dicaprio-dancing~Tina

 

Leave a Reply

