In Defense of Veronica Mars

Funnily enough, I was not introduced to Veronica Mars until long after the TV show had gone off the air and by, of all people, my older brother. My brother is 6 years older than me and when I started watching the show in college based off of his recommendation, it didn’t quite occur to me that he had no business watching a TV show featuring a female teen private detective. I was too busy being entertained by my newfound girl crush, Kristen Bell, and her sassy portrayal of this hidden gem’s title character.

The show only lasted 3 seasons on air and ended on a very unsatisfying note. I was with thousands of other fans who were therefore thrilled when the now famous Kickstarter campaign to fund a Veronica Mars movie was announced and ultimately succeeded (Full disclosure: I was a “bad” fan and did not actually contribute money to the campaign. But I like to think I was so confident in the project that my good fan vibes alone were enough of a contribution).

Fast-forward about a year and I had finally managed to make Chris sit through all 3 seasons of the show so we would both be caught up in time for the movie release (this was a whole negotiation that involved my agreeing to watch Battlestar Galactica first, and his agreeing to watch Sherlock before that, and us both needing to finish Homeland and Game of Thrones before that…I told you, I watch a lot of TV) over St. Patrick’s Day weekend.

vmars

Lemme tell ya…DID NOT DISAPPOINT.

I honestly think this movie would still be decently entertaining for someone who wasn’t up to speed with the show, but I am certain that it is 1000% better if you have. There are so many great callbacks and references to the series, and excellent guest appearances from actors & actresses who were on the show before they were as famous at they are now. Buzzfeed has a great list of some of the notable ones who I even forgot were on the show at some point, including Schmidt from New Girl, Jesse Pinkman from Breaking Bad, and PAUL RUDD, just to name a few. See? Told ya it was good.

My only complaint would be that – I’m sure due to time and fan demand – the movie focuses on some relationships and characters more than others. The central romance especially felt shoved in my face over and over, though I understand that this was definitely one of the painfully unresolved issues from the show that audiences were seeking closure on.

I feel like there’s not much else I can say about the movie that would be understood by anyone who hasn’t watched the show. So I’d like this post to stand as an impassioned argument for why you should give it a chance, if you haven’t already. While the premise seems really corny and tweeny, there is great, witty dialogue and banter that I think is way more mature and clever than your typical teenage drama. The mysteries featured each episode and overarching each season are engaging and suspenseful. Also, Kristen Bell is awesome and I wish I had been as cool as Veronica Mars in high school.

4 out of 4 stars! Obviously 🙂   Watch it. Love it. Tell me how you feel about it.

vmars

 

Any cancelled/ended TV shows that you LOVE(D) and wish would come back?

~Tina

Leave a Reply

