Meatballs and Eggplant Pasta

Hi Everyone!

I tried not eating gluten this week to see if I’d feel any different. Fail. Apparently soy sauce has gluten, which I’ve used in my stir-fry dishes already. Also, I ate some chicken nuggets today. Forgot about the breading. Props to you guys who are on strict gluten free diets! It’s hard!

Despite my failed attempt, I did decide to pick up some gluten free pasta at the grocery store to see what it would taste like.

To round out my pasta dish, I decided to make chicken “meatballs.” “Meatballs” is in quotation marks because I’ve left out all standard meatball ingredients like pork, breadcrumbs, and egg.

2014-03-19 17.52.45

I mixed ground chicken breast with minced garlic, garlic salt, red pepper flakes, black pepper, olive oil, and a chicken seasoning mix.

I also sliced an eggplant and drizzled it olive oil and more garlic salt. I put this in the oven to bake at 400 degrees for 15 minutes.

2014-03-19 18.03.04

 

I opened a jar of marinara sauce and put the meatballs in a pan to simmer away.

2014-03-19 18.20.12

 

This entire meal took barely 30 minutes to prep and cook.

2014-03-19 19.00.22

 

~ Tia

Leave a Reply

