Clamless Clam Chowder

So I woke up this morning, and there was a fresh sheet of snow on the ground. Sigh.

I guess that’s why I decided to make something warm and comforting for dinner.

But first, I went to Mercadito for lunch again!

2014-03-25 11.50.09

2014-03-25 11.41.06

So why Clamless Clam Chowder? Well, I didn’t do it on purpose.

I went grocery shopping and got the below ingredients.

2014-03-25 18.02.01

I sauteed chopped potato, celery, onion, and butter together until they softened.

2014-03-25 18.25.47

And then I opened the clams…

2014-03-25 18.39.15

I’d gotten whole clams instead of minced/chopped clams. They looked gross to me (like alien fetuses or something) so I poured the juice in the soup, and threw the clams out.

I still added cream and chicken stock, and I must say, everything still tasted really good – just like Clam Chowder…minus the clams. Haha.

2014-03-25 19.05.26

To go with the soup, I sliced bread and topped it with butter, minced garlic, olive oil, and garlic salt for an easy “garlic bread.”

Anyone else have any cooking mishaps lately?

~ Tia

Leave a Reply

