Chicken Enchiladas

Since my last post, I was lucky enough to somehow contract gastroenteritis (according to the doc), which has grounded me at home from work for the past 2 days. Although there are good things about missing work, there are also bad: terrible daytime television options and boredom, mostly. Also, the whole being sick thing wasn’t real cool.

The good news is that things are looking up and I finally got some of my appetite back. What better way to celebrate than by making a batch of chicken enchiladas?

I’ve made this several times before, but switched a few things up this time around. I made the filling in the slow cooker for the first time, and also tried this Old El Paso Chipotle Mexican Cooking Sauce, in addition to regular enchilada sauce which is what I usually use.

OEPChipotle_3449004102_big

I got it free as part of a promotion at our old Dominick’s grocery store before it closed down (RIP) and haven’t had a chance to use it yet.

Anyway, I’m sure you’ve noticed that Tia is a big fan of her slow cooker. Mine was a hand-me-down from my older sister (whose birthday is today!!!!) and doesn’t have a timer built in, so usually I’m too nervous to use it if I won’t be home to check on it. I got a great tip, however, to plug it into a digital outlet timer so I can program it to shut off at a certain time. I ended up being at home today unexpectedly, but I’ll definitely start doing this more often!

Filling ingredients:

  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • 1 green bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 large onion, diced
  • 1 can black beans, drained (some remaining liquid is okay)
  • 1 pouch of Old El Paso Chipotle Mexican Cooking Sauce (if I didn’t have this, I would have just used about a quarter of a can of red enchilada sauce, which can be found in most grocery stores)

I threw all that in the slow cooker and set it on low for 7 hours. When there was about 1 hour left to go, I dug out the chicken, shredded it with 2 forks, and mixed it back in the slow cooker for the remaining hour. It smelled incredible!

2014-04-24 18.44.00

Next, I set up a little assembly station and started putting it all together! I add a little filling, some enchilada sauce, and cheese to a tortilla, roll it on up and put it seam-side down into a baking dish. Once the dish is full, pour the rest of the enchilada sauce over all of them and then sprinkle a generous amount of Mexican cheese on top.

2014-04-24 18.45.172014-04-24 18.58.29

Pop it in the oven at 350F for 20 minutes and then insert into mouth.

2014-04-24 19.20.30

Except for tonight, I usually make these with a pre-made rotisserie chicken and cook the filling on the stovetop. Either way comes out delicious! And you can make the filling with whatever you like!

~Tina

Leave a Reply

