Super Simple Spaghetti Sauce

A while back I was reading A Cup of Jo, and came across what she deemed “the best spaghetti sauce you’ll ever have.” I don’t know if it’s as good as anyone’s Nonna’s, but it was pretty darn good. CJ immediately asked “what’s in this sauce??!” (Then he asked me to write down the recipe so I won’t forget it).

Picture from A Cup of Jo

Picture from A Cup of Jo

Basically, the premise is, you mix red sauce with ricotta cheese. The recipe called for mixing canned tomatoes with garlic, olive oil, and basil, and then stirring in a few scoops of ricotta when it’s done. I made a few swaps and additions.

2014-05-28 18.58.23

I used a jar of Prego’s traditional pasta sauce, and added some chopped basil and garlic before stirring in the ricotta cheese. I also poured a little red wine in the empty sauce jar, swished it around, and poured the mixture into the pan. For extra protein, I also cooked Italian seasoned chicken breasts to serve with the pasta. (Over the weekend, Tina grilled up some Cajun seasoned chicken and it was delish – I got the idea from her to buy pre-seasoned chicken).

2014-05-28 18.55.58

 

I also tossed some spinach in the mix for some veggies.

2014-05-28 19.12.22

 

Try it!

What’s your favorite pasta sauce?

~Tia

One thought on “Super Simple Spaghetti Sauce

  1. Pingback: Vincenzo’s Pizzeria | Tina and Tia

Leave a Reply

