I Scream, You Scream

Here’s a weird thing about me: I like to eat ice cream, even when it’s cold out. I have many fond memories from college of making the long, snowy, and windy trek to Cold Stone Creamery with Tia and our roomies, and stuffing my face with a Cookie Doughn’t You Want Some. Excuse me while I wipe the drool off my face.

There isn’t a Cold Stone near by me in Chicago (a shame!), but I did come across this interesting flavor from Dean’s at the grocery store the other day and couldn’t resist picking some up for later. This “Chicago Brick” flavor is served Neopolitan-style, with blocks of vanilla ice cream, caramel ice cream, and orange sherbert. I was intrigued.

2014-06-11 21.21.06

The verdict? I was most concerned about how the caramel would taste with the other flavors. It’s not bad, but not my favorite combo. I say take out the caramel and make this an orange creamsicle. But I can’t say no to ice cream, in any case 🙂

2014-06-11 21.21.12 2014-06-11 21.21.18

 

Another weird thing about me: You’ll notice that I eat ice cream out of a cup, not a bowl. I remember the first time I was about to scoop out some ice cream with my friends and they were wondering why I pulled out my mug instead of a bowl. My family always ate it this way when I was growing up and I guess I just carried on the tradition! Hey, think of it as portion-control.

Who loves ice cream? Man, I would really kill for some Cold Stone right about now.

~Tina

2 thoughts on “I Scream, You Scream

    • I was wondering that myself – I did a super scientific Google image search for “Chicago brick” and got back a lot of pictures of lighter colored brick, so maybe the colors of these flavors are supposed to mimic that? Who knows! Glad to meet another Chicago gal!

Leave a Reply

