Breakfast in a Pinch: Egg “Muffins”

I used to eat breakfast at my desk at work. I’d go into the office, get a cup of green tea, check my emails, and have yogurt, fruit, a granola bar or what not. Since getting Invisalign, eating at work would require me to brush my teeth/floss one additional time in the office, which I’d like to avoid. I doubt anyone cares that I brush in the bathroom after lunch…I see other people doing that, but I think it’d look weird if I’m brushing my teeth at 9:30am.

2014-07-09 18.30.08

Enter the egg “muffin.” I made these tonight so that I could have quick, easy breakfasts at home.

I sprayed a muffin tray with olive oil non-stick spray, and beat one dozen eggs.

2014-07-09 18.41.27

I filled the muffin tins with the egg mixture (salt and pepper too!) mozzarella, and frozen vegetables.

2014-07-09 18.43.32

I’d like to try adding pre-cooked quinoa or canned beans for extra protein next time. Black beans, salsa, corn, avocado for a Southwestern twist?

2014-07-09 18.46.12

I baked these in the oven at 325 degrees for about 20 mins.

2014-07-09 19.30.22

CJ will probably be eating these as snacks too since he’s always hungry. (Within two hours of having dinner tonight, he ate ice cream, a handful of almonds, watermelon, and a Fiber One oatmeal raisin cookie.)

Do you eat breakfast? What do you typically have?

~Tia

One thought on “Breakfast in a Pinch: Egg “Muffins”

  1. I typically don’t eat breakfast so my first meal is around 10am at work. I make something similar to these only I lay down a square of puff pastry before the egg so it’s like a little quiche and top each one with a slice of cheese.

Leave a Reply

